Movie Review: Ed Gein: The Butcher Of Plainfield

Since my favorite serial killer of all time is Ed Gein, and one of my favorite actors of all time is Kane Hodder, I saw Ed Gein: The Butcher of Plainfield coming out with Hodder playing Gein, and I shit a brick.

I mean, Ed Gein was at the top of his game. He was insane, he gutted people and hung them upside down to bleed out like they were a fucking deer, he made necklaces and jewelery with bones and soup bowls out of skulls. He skinned corpses and made a woman suit out of them to wear as he danced in his yard in celebration of his mother, whom he worshiped. He was the inspiration for Buffalo Bill, Psycho, and the Texas Chainsaw Massacre series. Ed Gein rocked hard.

I got myself a copy of the movie and I sat down triumphantly to watch it. This was going to rule.

Oh, how wrong I was.

The acting in this movie is sub-par, as is the writing. The directing was okay, actually and surprisingly, but the sound was horrible. Throughout the entire movie the speaking is hard to hear and in many parts the background music is louder than the speaking, which really isn’t hard to do since the actors can barely be heard at all.

Now, Ed Gein was a sick bastard. One of the sickest, which is why he’s my favorite of all serial killers. Dahmer and Manson can suck one.

Try harder next time, LOSERS!

The only saving grace is Kane Hodder. Some of you may recognize him by his other name, Jason Vorhees (Parts 7-X). He’s one bad SOB. And huge too, which for the role of Ed Gein who was a smaller man, doesn’t make much sense. But they were not only going for the scare factor with the movie, because Hodder is one scary dude, but they were also going for name recognition because Hodder is the only actor they had in the movie who knows how to act or is recognized by others.

Hodder as Ed Gein.
Yes, he's actually that big in real life.

Even he couldn’t save it. He tried, dammit, he tried. He murdered a whole lot of people, although he’s used to that, and he played a really good psycho, although he’s used to that. But even he couldn’t save this movie. I still give him credit though, for playing a character such as Ed Gein, who is my favorite serial killer.

There is another Ed Gein movie out there and I think it’s just called Ed Gein. That is closer to the actual story of Ed Gein anyway, which this rendition was very loosely based on facts. If you can find that version check it out. If you find this one, do yourself a favor and stay away from it, unless you can find a music-less copy.

I give this movie 4 stars out of 10. 2 because Kane Hodder is in it, and 2 because it’s about Ed Gein. I tried to watch it again to give it a fair review but couldn’t, so it gets no more stars.

4 responses to “Movie Review: Ed Gein: The Butcher Of Plainfield

  1. Where do you find these movies?

  2. LOL Everywhere. I used to go to a Family Video near me and look through their movies for anything that looked interesting. When I got Netflix I would do the same. It’s all about having the time and patience to look for something that looks interesting, and then having the desire to sit through it, knowing it could be good, or really bad.

    The best thing about it is, a review can come from it. I had already watched this all the way through once but that was a while ago and I didn’t remember much about it other than I didn’t care for it. So I tried watching it again to get a better idea of it so I could write this piece, but it was so bad I couldn’t do it.

    If I had never looked for strange movies I would have never seen such classics as Zombies On A Plane, Zombie Strippers or Trailer Park Of Terror. All three are pretty good movies.

  3. Pingback: Movie Review: Death Tunnel | Beefy's House o' Fun

Leave a comment