Album Review: If The River Was Whiskey

I recently wanted to know what the Spin Doctors were up to, and I discovered they had put out their sixth studio album, “If The River Was Whiskey” back in 2013. Curious, I picked it up and checked it out. What I found was quite impressive.

Naturally, as someone who wasn’t ever a big fan of theirs to begin with, my only knowledge of them was their hits from back in the 90s. What “If The River…” is, is 100% blues rock. I was delightfully surprised. Because it’s not just blues rock, it’s GOOD blues rock. It even has guitar solos, which a lot of newer rock doesn’t have.

I really don’t know what else to say about the album, other than it rocks and if you’re a fan of blues rock, you should definitely check this album out. I really hope the Spin Doctors aren’t done playing.

Here’s some interesting info. The Spin Doctors have been around since around 1989, but this is only their sixth album. The album before this one, “Nice Talking To Me,” came out in 2005.

Leave a Reply

