What They Be Doin’ Now? The Presidents of the United States of America

Welcome to a new piece that I’ve been trying to get started for well over a year now. This is my version of Where Are They Now? It’s called What They Be Doin’ Now? and the premise is one you’ve heard before. It all started when one day I heard a song by a 90s band I hadn’t heard in a long time, and it made me wonder what they were up to now. If they had survived, if they hadn’t. If the members went their separate ways and joined other bands. Because as we all know, especially of those 90s born bands, they were once Kings but are now… eh? …eh?

Sure we know Pearl Jam is still around and kicking, because they’re never going to go anywhere. Green Day is still going strong, for the most part. The Foo Fighters are still, in my opinion, one of the greatest rock bands of all time, and thank the gods above they’re still rocking hard.

But what about the rest of them? I’m sure they got fans out there still wanting to see them play. So are they touring? Recording? No matter the answer, I’m almost always surprised by what I find out, and this one is no different.

On the way home from work I heard Lump by The Presidents Of The United States Of America. Remember them? They were cute, right? So now I answer the question, What The Fuck They Be Doin’ Now?

I looked them up and holy shit, they’re still together, and they’re basically the same dudes, which is rare. One guy decided to spend more time with family and handed his position up to another guy, but even when they play around Seattle, the original dude will join them in concert. Not bad.

They released a new album last year called Kudos To You!, and you can listen to tracks from it right on their website. Which is exactly what I did.

I have, historically, never been a big fan of theirs. They were more of a novelty act to me. I liked Lump, but not nearly as much as I liked Gump by Weird Al. I was also a fan of Peaches, but only after I figured out what they were really talking about. I loved, however, the video to Peaches. Ninjas? Excellent.

Even though I was never a big fan of theirs, they were more novelty than anything to me, I decided to listen to one of the songs off of the new album anyway. And you know what? It’s pretty awesome. I listened to a few others and I gotta say, I’m impressed. I might have to buy a copy of the album, which is something I never thought I’d say.

This is the song that hooked me. Pretty cool.

3 responses to “What They Be Doin’ Now? The Presidents of the United States of America

  1. Wow Chucky, you have changed. Song was better than average. Novelty sums it up nicely.

    Yay that there will be more.

  2. Pingback: What They Be Doin’ Now? Spin Doctors | Beefy's House o' Fun

  3. Pingback: What They Be Doin’ Now? Harvey Danger | Martians Attack!

Leave a Reply

