Product Review: Vivitar DJ Mixers

Recently on a trip to Walmart I saw a pair of headphones in the checkout line. I was interested, because I’m always up for a decent pair of headphones that aren’t ear buds, but I didn’t get them. I kept thinking about them and finally decided on my next visit to get a pair. They were under $5, so what the hell, right?

By the way, to whoever popularized ear buds:

middlefinger

Despite there being many different colors, I picked black and quickly went to my destination to try them out. They plugged right into my phone, had a decent range on the cord (4 feet), and they were comfortable on my head, as well as around my ears. When not in use, they fold up perfectly and fit just about anywhere.

vivitar-dj-mixer-headphones-black

I’ve had many sets of headphones over the years, I did work in radio after all, and I’ve had some that hurt my ears after wearing them for too long. The ear pads either weren’t big enough or they just fit weird.

I didn’t get that with these, and I paid a whole lot less for them than any other pair I’ve ever owned. Not only were they comfortable, but they also helped to silence outside sound as well.

I looked at Vivitar’s website for them and couldn’t find them. I don’t know if it’s because they’re not cameras or because they’re limited edition, or if Vivitar is ashamed of them, but they shouldn’t be. These are damn fine headphones for a ridiculously low price. I’m going to probably buy another two or three pairs before I can’t get them anymore. Especially at under $5 a piece. After having these, no other headphones will do, and I’m not sure how I’ll handle it if mine break and I don’t have a pair to fall back on.

You can get a few different colors as well. I believe they come in red, blue, purple, pink, black, and green. So if you happen to be at a Walmart and in the market for a new set of decent headphones, check them out. You’ll find them in the checkout lane amongst all of the other checkout lane goods, and I’m pretty sure they were $4.77. You can also find them on Amazon and various other sites for around $12, which is still a very good value. They come with a one year warranty.

The only con I have about them is, there’s no volume control on them so you’re stuck dealing with whatever gadget you’re using for the volume. Despite that, the headphones have great sound as the bass, treble and mids all seem to be perfectly tuned. And for $5 I can’t really complain since everything else about them is so perfect.

Get them while the gettin’s good. These are some damn fine headphones, and you can’t beat the price.

9 out of 10 stars

2 responses to “Product Review: Vivitar DJ Mixers

  1. Whocareswhatmynameis

    These are awesome! I got 2 pairs for 3.50 and they sound like a $20-25 pair of headphones!! And they look beautiful and fold up!! But, they aren’t that loud and the cord definitely isn’t 4 feet long. But overall, I love these cheepos!

Leave a Reply

