Karma Works Like That

I’ve told you before how Karma is my religion. I believe in it, I trust in it, and yet I’m always surprised and touched when it comes around. I can understand how people feel that way about “God” and “Jesus” and “miracles.” Same thing, different name.

I get that feeling. I really do. Lately I’ve been in a giving mood. Maybe it’s the holidays, maybe it’s just how I’ve been feeling, which has been good, by the way. Yeah, I’ve been feeling good lately.

A couple of weeks ago I found myself hungry late night and because it was late night there was nothing around that was open except for a White Castle. Sure I could have gone farther, but I didn’t really want to. I hated that I had to leave the house to begin with, but we had no food here to eat.

I went to White Castle and placed my order in the drive thru. When I got to the window to pay, I noticed there was someone behind me placing an order. So I decided to cover their order too.

You know what? It made me feel good. It was a random act of kindness that I didn’t have to do, nobody prompted me to do it, I just did it. And it felt great. My wife and I don’t have much money, ever, and that person’s order wasn’t much anyway, but still, to do something nice for someone I didn’t know was awesome. Hopefully, it made their day.

That person apparently only got coffee and some fries or something, their order wasn’t big, but I noticed when they drove past me to leave they didn’t look over or wave or anything. They just took off. I also noticed the person behind them was paying for their own order.

So it started and ended with me. It didn’t go on and on like it does at some places, usually Starbucks. Whatever. That’s not my concern. It’s a shame the guy behind me couldn’t keep it going, but that’s his/her prerogative. Karma man, Karma. That person isn’t going to get it back when it comes around.

I did.

More recently I also donated some cash to the Salvation Army dude outside of my grocery store. I gave him the change I had jingling in my pocket and a few dollars from my wallet. That might be the first time I’ve ever done that.

Again, I didn’t have to. I just felt like it. I didn’t expect it to come back to me. I wasn’t even thinking about that, or about me. It wasn’t a selfish thing to do. I wasn’t looking for the payback at all, honestly. I’m only writing this piece to tell you about how it works out, so that maybe you can do better too, if you don’t already. And eventually, maybe, this world will be full of awesomeness instead of crap.

Two nights ago I delivered pizzas and had a decent night. I got some good tips, and everything for the most part went very well, but nothing really out of the ordinary. Last night though…

I had a delivery way out of our area and they gave me $10 for the trouble. Then I had a cheap $4 delivery (she had a coupon for free stuff) and got a $6 tip there. Then, my last delivery, was a $21 order. The guy handed me the cash, thanked me, and went inside with his food. I went back to my car before looking at what he handed me.

I went back to his house and knocked. When he answered the door I asked him if he was sure he gave me the right amount. He said he was and wished me a merry Christmas. He gave me a $29 tip on a $21 order.

Last night I had 5 deliveries and made $60. That’s $12 a delivery. That’s Karma.

I was humbled by what he had done, and touched deeply. But most importantly, I knew why it had happened. I did good, selfishly, and it came back to me. So I will continue to do so, but not because it will come back, but because doing good is the right thing to do, period.

It also beats the alternative… doing bad and having THAT come back to me. I’m done with that crap.

Merry Christmas everyone.

2 responses to “Karma Works Like That

  1. Karma does come around. I’m glad you seem to be getting your share of the good stuff. Boo on the car behind you for not at least waving thanks. I tend to put my change in the feed the needy buckets at the cash registers. Even with as much debt as I have, I can afford to eat, and others can’t. I don’t do it for karma sake, like you said, giving feels good.

    Even my belief in karma only goes so far, though.

    Merry Christmas to you, too.

    • That’s okay. Like the religious say, it doesn’t matter if you believe or not, it’s always working. But, I’m glad to hear that you like to help for no other reason other than you like to help. That means more, I think, than doing it to get a return on it.

Leave a Reply

