The 2014 Bengals – A Casual Perspective

I’m not an NFL analyst. I love football, but I have no reason to follow every team, and every player, and know the ins and outs of the game every year. I’m a regular fan. I can watch any game and enjoy the sport, and that’s about it.

I do follow the Bengals moderately, because they’re my city’s team. I also follow the Dolphins because I’ve been a fan of them since I was a kid. Still, I couldn’t tell you two players names on the Dolphins team, and I could probably only tell you a few more names than that on the Bengals team.

What I’ve noticed this year so far, for the Bengals, is that early on they were 3-0, and people were saying how they hadn’t played anybody good. They were also the last undefeated team in the NFL. Since then they had their by-week, then they lost, tied, and now they’re losing to the Colts, a very good team.

From a regular, general perspective, they’re not a good team. If there was anybody still on the fence as to whether or not they were any good, I think the answer is here. They are not.

Andy Dalton is a mediocre quarterback at best. Proof of that is when A.J. Green is taken away from him. He should be able to hit any target, no matter who or what that target is, and he cannot. He was impressive his first year, because it was his FIRST YEAR. Since then he hasn’t done anything to be impressive. Currently, if he were the QB he was supposed to be, he would be dominating the league. But he is not. When I heard the Bengals signed him to a huge contract, I was legitimately shocked.

Unless the Bengals do something to change what they’re doing, they’re going to fall hard in their division, and they’re going to fall hard in the league. They’ll be lucky to get to the playoffs this year, and even if they did, they wouldn’t do anything there, like the last few years.

beefy-ecards-bengals-playoffs

When they lost (got destroyed) on their Sunday night game against the Patriots, one of the commentators mentioned how the Bengals are no good in high profile games, such as a Sunday or Monday night game, or in the playoffs. And that is true. Because they are not a good team.

I’m a fan of Marvin Lewis, and I’m a fan of what he’s done with the team. I dislike Brown, but know in my life I’m probably never going to get anything better in that position. The fact of the matter is, the Bengals have the players and the staff, right now, to be a great team. They’re just not. What’s missing? I don’t know, but I hope someone does, and I hope that someone can get it worked out. Until then, I’m not surprised they’re not the team they should be. Because I’m a lifelong resident of Cincinnati, and I’m used to it.

Just like I’m used to saying, “There’s always next year.”

One response to “The 2014 Bengals – A Casual Perspective

  1. good good good plz send some form and prayers

Leave a Reply

