Ghostbusters, Super Troopers, And More

Well, movie fans, it looks like reboots, at least for the time being, are here for the long haul. Sequels are also being brought in to stave off the reboots of certain films, at least for the time being.

To start, here are some movies reported to be happening that I have thoughts about.

1990s Flatliners is apparently going to get a reboot. Because of course it is. The original, starring Kiefer Sutherland, Julia Roberts and Kevin Bacon was an amazingly good movie. It’s still one of my Kiefer favorites, and it’s a creepy ass movie. If you haven’t seen it, check it out before the reboot comes out. I’m on the fence about whether I want to see the new one or not. The original was so awesome.

flatliners-movie-poster

Disney’s Flight Of The Navigator is also apparently going to be a reboot. An awesome movie from way back in 1986, it starred Joey Cramer, Paul Reubens, Cliff De Young, and a young Sarah Jessica Parker. Again, the original is amazing stuff, but this is a reboot I’ll definitely check out. I’ll always love the original, but a new one could be fun, if nothing else.

Naturally there’s an entire list of reboots and sequels happening that I really don’t want to talk about, because naturally I’m only bringing up those I care about. You can see more by doing a Google search or checking out this site. Now, for updates on the stuff I’ve mentioned before.

It looks like Dan Aykroyd isn’t blowing smoke up our asses THIS time. A new Ghostbusters is going to happen, and it’s going to be a reboot to the franchise. Maybe we’ll get more than two movies out of it this time around. If it’s good, I’m okay with that. I really like the list of women Bill Murray suggested to play the parts, so maybe we’ll get to see that as well. Oh, it’s going to be all women ‘Busters this time, too. I wonder if Slimer will be a woman. Ivan Reitman is out, which sucks, but Paul Feig has been brought in to direct, so maybe it’ll be okay. I’m sure we’ll see a cameo by Aykroyd.

The official announcement of Super Troopers 2 was made, even though at this point it’s kind of redundant, since they’ve officially announced it a few times. Originally, rumors were saying the sequel would be a prequel, taking place in the 70s and all of the characters from the first would be taking on the roles of their dads. That sounded awesome to me, but it looks like the sequel is actually going to take place a few months after the first movie. I’m still okay with that.

car-ramrod

Zombieland 2 is actually going to happen, but it looks as if the original cast is most likely going to be out. While that sucks a lot, and is really the only reason I think many of us would want to see a sequel happen is to see where those characters go after the end of the first, that doesn’t mean a new movie about four other survivors in a different part of the country could be bad. I just don’t see why making a sequel to this is a good thing if it’s not about the original characters. Either way, I’ll watch it, but probably not in theaters unless the original cast is in it. Because I won’t give that much of a shit about it otherwise.

And then there’s… wait, that’s all I got. For now anyway. I’m sure tomorrow I’ll hear about another 10 reboots that will piss me off or make me go “eh.” It’s those “eh” ones that I look forward to. It’s all I have. Thanks, Hollywood.

Leave a Reply

