It’s All Relative

I live in Cincinnati, Ohio. For those of you who have no idea, it sits in the southwest corner of Ohio, and is bordered by both Kentucky and Indiana. Those three states make up our Tri-State area. Here in Cincinnati we love to make fun of both states, mostly Kentucky, by saying such things as they’re all hillbillies with no teeth who are into incest and marry their cousins at 14 years old. I don’t know why that is, but of the three states I like Ohio the least. Both Kentucky and Indiana are pretty cool places.

Recently I found out from my mom that the term “kissing cousins” is an actual thing, and that she knows of people who have married their cousins in Ohio. She also said it’s legal for them to do so, but by law they’re not allowed to have kids.

I was shocked, but I didn’t really look into it. She’s not known for telling tall tales. I did confirm with my dad about one of the stories though, it was one of his best friends who married his cousin, many years ago.

I just saw in the news where a German committee is trying to get the country to abolish incest laws, saying incest is a fundamental right. Not necessarily sleeping with your relatives is a fundamental right, but being able to choose who you have sex with as a grown adult.

So I decided to finally look into what my mom was telling me about and I checked out the incest laws here in the United States. I went to Wikipedia, if that matters, but this is what I found.

In the United States the District of Columbia and every state have some form of codified incest prohibition. In all states, incest is sexual acivity between a lineal ancestor and a lineal descendant (parent, grandparent with child or grandchild), siblings (brother-sister) and aunt-nephew, uncle-niece. However, individual statutes vary widely. Rhode Island has repealed its criminal incest statute; Ohio “targets only parental figures”, and New Jersey does not apply any penalties when both parties are 18 years of age or older. A conviction for incest attracts the following penalties by state:

  • 5 years imprisonment in Hawaii, Florida
  • 10 years imprisonment in North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and Minnesota
  • 14 years imprisonment in California, Oregon, Washington, Alaska and Idaho
  • 15 years imprisonment in Connecticut, Maryland, Delaware, Virginia and West Virginia
  • 20 years imprisonment in Massachusetts, New York, New Hampshire, Maine, Pennsylvania, and Vermont
  • 25 years imprisonment in Kansas, Nebraska, Arkansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Texas, Arizona, New Mexico, Nevada, Colorado, Wyoming, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana and Kentucky
  • Life imprisonment in Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee.

Three convictions or more of incest also require the offenders to register as “Sex Offenders.”

In some states, sex between first cousins is prohibited. Many states also apply incest laws to non-blood relations, including stepparents, step-siblings, and in-laws.

The interesting thing to me, above all else, is that if you’re siblings involved in incest in Ohio, it’s okay. But if you’re in Kentucky you can go to jail for 25 years no matter what. Hysterical.

As far as cousins go, the laws for my Tri-State area are all goofy and I’m not going to try to figure it out, but basically in some instances, and depending on if you’re first cousins or not, depends on if you can or can’t have a relationship or get married.

Now, personally, I don’t care. I can’t care, because it’s not my business. If someone wants to bang their relatives, fine by me, and have at it. As long as it’s consensual and they’re adults.

The one that really gets me is when two people meet up and fall in love and get married and have kids only to later find out they’re related. What do they do then? Fall out of love? Kill the kids? That’s a tough place to be in, and it happens all the time. Those are just two of MANY stories about it.

So what do they do? I have to say, honestly, if I were in that situation, I wouldn’t end the relationship. Call me sick or whatever you want. The difference here is, I wouldn’t knowingly just go after a relative. I have some attractive cousins, but… no. While I was taught it was wrong as a kid, when I got older and could make those decisions for myself I thought there wasn’t much wrong with it. Again, not that I would go after my family members for a romantic relationship. It’s the same with homosexuality. I’m all for it, but I’m not gay. However, if I were to find out today that my wife and I were related, I wouldn’t leave her. Everybody thinks we’re brother and sister when we go out anyway, so it’s kind of like we’re already in the situation. It really fucks with those people when we kiss.

And honestly, I think incest is kind of hot in a kinky way. Like, it’s forbidden, so DO IT. I’m all for walking on the grass when you’re not supposed to.

What you do in your life, as long as it isn’t bad and doesn’t harm anybody else, is fine by me. And nobody has any right to judge others for anything. Unless you’re an actual judge. Then it’s okay.

7 responses to “It’s All Relative

  1. Incest itself creeps me out but what really makes it worse is inbreeding. It can cause some seriously bad genetic mutations in offspring. Maybe it’s because I don’t think I have attractive relatives or maybe because I overthink things. When I know a thing though, it is indeed very different from when I don’t. A lot of couples look related because fundamentally, we do kind of look for a kindred spirit, someone we can relate to. But I’m fairly sure not ACTUALLY related to. On Game of Thrones, there are a lot of implications as to the downside of inbreeding (madness, disability, etc). Maybe it is something I was taught that sticks with me, but I think I was far more mortified with what I learned on my own. Or having the pedophile part of it as an actual experience in my early childhood. Either way, I think there is more merit to it than just because someone said so.

    • Oh sure, inbreeding is bad, which is why in a lot of the places where incest is legally okay to do they have the stipulation that you shouldn’t have kids. And of course pedophilia isn’t a good thing at all. That’s why I think as long as they’re consenting adults it should be okay. You know, to fall in love and be together and kind of leave it at that.

  2. It’s actually normal and encouraged by the parents for people to marry cousins in the middle east!

  3. It’s often a taboo, but not all over the world, which makes it anthropologically interesting to me. I have no kissing cousins, but I’ve long known others do/did. All I can say is that I find it strange, but then, the sexual appetites of others are not my own.

    • Sometimes I find myself looking at certain things, sexually, as interesting or hot or kinky that I normally wouldn’t. I don’t know if that’s me trying to maybe experiment or grow sexually, but there’s something about it that is attractive to me. Again, not that I would ever do it, because I’ve grown up looking at my family as a no-no, but sometimes I put myself in others situations and think “If I was him and she was MY sister…” lol. Strange.

  4. In my opinion is rather be with someone from my family who I know and feel comfortable with and also who is older with experience so it’s more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

