Blatant Rip Offs

I’m kind of sick of rip offs. Or followers. It wasn’t that long ago that following got you nowhere. Now you’re expected to do it to get anywhere.

As a musician you have to sound like everyone else in order to sell albums, or digital downloads, whatever. In movies, there’s a theme now that you have to not act your way to success. I enjoy their movies, but Seth Rogen and company, everybody who are typically in his movies, are all the same person in every movie they do. And that person? Themselves. Acting in movies now means you get in front of a camera and say your lines. They’re not the only ones.

The point here is, I’m sick of it. There’s not a lot of originality going on anymore. Why is that? Have we run out of originality? Hollywood has, as they reboot and sequel every movie that has come out in the last 30 years instead of putting out very many new ideas.

To give you a quick example of something I’ve been seeing a lot of lately, first I want you to take a look at the source material.

acdc-high-voltage-album-cover

You don’t have to be a fan to know who AC/DC is. They’ve been around for 40 years this year and they’re one of the highest selling bands of all time. Never mind that almost everybody around the world has heard at least one of their songs. So sure, why not rip them off?

Here’s yet another reason I can’t stand NASCRAP.

acdc-ripoff3

I saw that shit in the store one day and wanted to burn the store down. Despite being extremely popular (for some reason), they still felt the need to rip off AC/DC. Why? What’s the purpose there? Are you trying to bring in a different type of fan, NASCRAP? I think so. You’ve done sucked up all of the hicks, so where to expand… I guess you couldn’t use anybody else’s name to rip off, so you went with AC/DC. Very nice. Assholes.

Oh, but it doesn’t end there. I just saw this the other day.

acdc-ripoff2

Wow. Not only did they rip off AC/DC’s logo, but they ripped off the High Voltage too! Double shot! Nice. I guess after coming up with a product that mimics every other product like it, they were too tired to come up with an original name, so here you go. At least they changed SOME of the letters around in AC/G3, but that was too much for them, so they just slapped the “High Voltage” on there and let that be that.

What the fuck? There should be a law about that. I’m sure AC/DC wasn’t contacted about it. Why bother? Just do it, nobody will care.

How about this? I pointed this out a few years back in an old Editorial that I can no longer find to repost. The argument is still valid. I’m sure the band logo came out after the fashion chain. Still a rip off.


The top one is for Izod, obviously. The bottom one is for a now defunct rock band, Zug Izland. Do you see a difference? Of course, one is IZ and the other is ZI. They’re so different!

And what happened when rock dude Gene Simmons decided to pollute the air waves with his own shitty reality show? Well of course he had to rip off AC/DC. Check it out.

Source

That means “I love you,” Gene. Not very rock. You should know that. Source

Gene Simmons’ Family Jewels debuted on August 7, 2006. AC/DC’s Family Jewels was released on March 28, 2005. You know I don’t have to tell you which one rocks harder.

I could go on and on, but I won’t. This is the limit of crap I want to deal with at one time.

It won’t be long before we’re all mindless drones, barely walking the earth, all doing the same fucking thing at the same time. Just one thing. By then, that’s all we’ll need, and all we’ll be capable of. At least with the shit I’m noticing, it’ll be something awesome, like being Angus Young for the rest of our lives. I could live a life like that.

Leave a Reply

