My Faith Is In Karma

What goes around, comes around.

That’s karma for you. What goes around will eventually come around. It’s a circle, like the earth, or a carousel. You put the quarter in, you get on the horse, it goes up and down, and around. Circular, circle. Feel it. Go with the flow.

I lost myself for a moment there in Nealonland.

Here’s the deal. I’m not religious. I believe in some sort of power, and maybe that power is karma, I don’t know. But I do know that I’ve believed in karma most of my life. I do try to be good to others. I try to be nice. I try not to do wrong. Sometimes I slip up, but I’m not perfect. I know a lot of people have faith in God or a few Gods, and I’m happy for them. I think everybody needs SOMETHING to believe in. Whether it’s God, or karma, or He-Man. People need to believe in something.

A buddy of mine is very fond of a quote that I’m glad he shared with me once, from Voltaire. “Si Dieu n’existait pas, il faudrait l’inventer.” That’s the actual quote, but what my buddy shared with me was the translation, cause neither of us speak whatever the hell that is. “If God did not exist, it would be necessary to invent Him.”

Even atheists believe in nothing, and nothing IS something. If it wasn’t, then you wouldn’t be able to believe in it.

So I believe in karma, except for most of my life I’ve let things get to me. I’ve let people bother me. I’ve let situations bother me. I don’t easily forget stuff, and I surely don’t easily forgive. I hold onto things for way too long. I know I do, and I know it’s a problem, and I wish I could stop it. I’ve tried, and I’ve failed.

So where do I go from there? Well, tonight at work I had a few things happen that really pissed me off. One thing in particular pissed me off so much that I was ready to burn someone’s house down. At this point of my life I’ve decided that in order for me to feel better about something, in order to feel vindicated, I would deal out payback at the cost of going to jail for it. In other words, I would go to jail just to get even. I know that’s not good, but I’ve fucking had it with people being assholes and getting away with it.

And that’s where I stopped myself. I realized that karma will get them back. I have faith that karma will give them a punishment suitable for their actions, so that I don’t have to. My only regret is that I won’t be there to see it happen. But on the flip side, I believe karma will also be kind to me for allowing it to do its job and for not taking matters into my own hands.

And you know what? I felt better. I didn’t hold onto it. Instead I turned on some tunes and had a better night. That felt good. I’ve never been able to do that, but tonight I did it and it felt good.

So I’m hoping that maybe this will be a new start for me. Maybe this will be where I can finally let things go and trust in karma to hand out the justice. My fingers are crossed.

They’re really not, it’s hard to type with them crossed.

18 responses to “My Faith Is In Karma

  1. Outtie lmy head…out!

    • I’m thinking of writing something called Karma is a poopy bed. Karma is the one faith that I have. It is hanging on for life, at the moment. If it leaves, what else is there to believe in?

      • Um, I don’t know. i believe in so little lol. If somebody has nothing to believe in…. I’ve been there and those are sad times usually. They were for me. I guess all I can say about that is, I hope you aren’t having that bad of a time and I hope it all works out for you.

  2. You and I have much in common. I’m a lot less angry since I squared away that karma will always come around. I think even atheists can get behind karma, because it basically just follows logic: if you constantly act like a cock-end around people, then sooner or later you’re going to piss off someone you shouldn’t have, and when you do no one is going to want to help you.

    Likewise, I’ve built a lot more bridges, professionally and friend-ways, since I started being nicer to people, or even just engaging them instead of running out the door when they try to talk to me. I’m not going to pretend I haven’t also met a lot of proper shits, but that’s life: in truth, I think if everyone was nice to me all of the time I would freak the fuck out.

    • Absolutely to all of this. And yeah, if people were nice all the time to me I’d freak out too. It’s unnatural. You have to have some kind of hate in your life, everybody does. Otherwise you’d have a Flanders moment.

  3. It’s tough to walk away from someone who deserves a swift dick punch, but the consequences of such actions just aren’t worth it. Not to me, anyhow.

    • Right, I get that. To me, the payback is more along the lines of death. I get so angry at people for the dumb shit they do I always envision myself wrapping my arm around their neck and squeezing until they die. Every time. And I don’t know how I’d feel about that in the long run, but I know I’d feel good about it while I was doing it.

  4. “If God did not exist, it would be necessary to invent Him.” Yes, I love that quote… I also love (don’t know who first said it) “Man made God in his own image.”

    Hey, I think Atheists do believe in a lot of things, just not like that. I mean, I believe in Karma, too. Not like a magical God Karma who goes around making sure everything is equal in the universe, but I believe that if you bring shit on the the world (can I swear here?) you’re eventually going to get shit back. I hope I can believe in that and still call meself an Atheist.

  5. Pingback: Delivery Tales: Delivering Karma | Beefy's House o' Fun

  6. Pingback: Karma Works Like That | Beefy's House o' Fun

  7. Pingback: Karma Is Too Slow | Beefy's House o' Fun

Leave a Reply

