Daily Prompt: Witness Protection

When you do something scary or stressful — bungee jumping, public speaking, etc. — do you prefer to be surrounded by friends or by strangers? Why?

As a matter of fact, I don’t mind either, but I PREFER strangers. I should also say that this is in those instances where I might be speaking publicly, or performing, as I used to in theater and band.

Despite not having an issue walking into a crowd of people I don’t know with all of their attention on me, I actually hate it. But I do it without thinking about it, and I think that’s the key. Like when I deliver a pizza and the customer invites me in and I see a room full of people and they’re all looking at me. I just smile, ask them what’s up and get on with the business. In reality, I’m terrified, but I don’t let it get to me.

I learned that by being in theater. Speaking in front of large groups turned out to be fun for me, and I think that’s because I know I don’t know them and I can actually be quite entertaining if I have to be. When my buddy and I used to play tunes at bars, every week for two years, I would play my acoustic guitar and he would sing, or sometimes I’d just play and sing (I sing terribly by the way). But I’d just do it. Because you only have one life to live, so live it up, right? I’m not throwing out a YOLO here. With theater it helped that there were other people on stage with me, and with the playing guitar it helped that I was almost always completely trashed.

So yeah, I do have issues with it. I don’t like having all of the attention on me, deep down, but I enjoy it. It’s strange. I hate people but love gatherings.

Don't ya think?

Don’t ya think?

I’ve found, though, that if family and friends are there, they either tell me how great I was because they’re just being nice and supportive, or they’re used to me performing and they don’t say shit. They’re only there to be another body in the crowd. To start the applause or the laughing. But if it’s people I don’t know, then I feel like I’m performing. I feel like a performer. I feel like I have a crowd of people (or a couple of people) there to see a performance and they’re going to judge me based on it. So I better be good.

Is that sufficient enough to answer this? I feel like I tangented all over the place.

11 responses to “Daily Prompt: Witness Protection

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Witness Protection or how to survive without stress or an audience | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. “I feel like I tangented all over the place.”

    You should get a tissue and clean that up.

  3. Fun answer.. love the contradictions and I kind of get it, although I’d rather just not go public if I can avoid it!

    • Well yeah, me too. I hate the public, and people, for the most part. I’d rather just stay by myself on 100 acres of land in the country. As long as I got a lake and I can fish, I don’t need anybody else lol.

      • Lol – you are funny – you hate people for the most part, yet you have such a gift in spreading laughter and a good read to people every day 🙂
        Oh I love fishing! Used to go with my dad all the time, now I go with my sweetheart.. We have our first fishing date of the season this Friday (if it isn’t raining as I’m just over – almost – pneumonia).

        Anyhow, keep spreading the smiles, you have a great way of doing it!

      • Well aren’t you sweet! Thank you 😀 I guess I’m ate up that way. I hate people, but I want to be heard. Like, if I could be read by billions of people that would be great, as long as I didn’t have to hear any of them lol. I mean really, I don’t hate people by themselves, it’s the general public I hate. Like that quote from Men In Black, “A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky dangerous animals and you know it.” You might be able to talk sense to one person, but to a group of people? Forget it.

      • Oh, and I should also say, good luck fishing! I hope you do better than I did my last time out. I guess it was last weekend. Got a couple nibbles from turtles cleaning my hook every time I threw it out. My wife caught a blue gill, and so did my dad. My dad also got a big snapping turtle, about a 10 pounder. I was hoping for a catfish, but got nothing. Oh well, plenty more chances to catch something good!

  4. Ha…people make me itch. Thanks for another laugh.

  5. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Witness Protection | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

