25 Songs, Day 3

A song that reminds me of one/both of my parents.

Well, this is tough. I could post a song that reminds me of my dad, and one that reminds me of my mom. But both? That would be like, three posts for one post.

My parents split when I was 7 or so, and a lot of my childhood is a blur because I’ve apparently blocked it out. But if there’s any one song that I could attribute to both of them, it would be this one.

When I was a kid this was one thing we did a lot together. We’d go fishing. Not so much in the dark, that was more something I did with just my dad. But, my mom was a fan of this song cause she was more of a country listener, and my dad goes fishing, and was also a fan of this song because the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band are pretty awesome no matter what music you listen to.

5 responses to “25 Songs, Day 3

  1. Not a huge country fan but this song is cute. Fishing in the dark sounds kind of fun…and yay, I typed song instead of don’t…

  2. I’ve always liked this song, but never knew who sang it.

    • When looking for this video I saw a live version of it and tried watching it. The singer was a little too into the performance and was screaming “WOO!” and “ALRIGHT!” so inappropriately loud and so many times in the first 30 seconds of the song (he may have been drunk) that I turned it off and went to find an album version. They’re a good band, been around forever, but haven’t had many hits, especially of this caliber.

  3. Pingback: 25 Days, 25 Songs: Day 6 | Stuphblog

Leave a Reply

