Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star

When you were 10, what did you want to be when you grew up? What are you? Are the two connected?

I don’t think I had anything on my mind as far as a future career was concerned when I was 10. I think by then I was wanting to be a ninja turtle more than anything.

Before that though, when I was much younger, I did go through the phase of wanting to be many different things. Doctor, cop and fireman were three (that I can remember) but I’m sure there were more. One for sure I wanted to be was a garbage man. Yeah.

Every garbage day I’d go out and watch the gigantic truck drive slowly up the street to my house, occasionally stopping so the man could jump out and toss everybody’s crap into the back of the truck. And then he’d get to my place. He was always so nice to me. Once, he brought me an apple. Another time he let me ride in his truck while he went down the street picking up trash. Over time he had given me candy and a new bike too. He was like a creepy child molester that actually came through with the gifts and gave none of the molesting. He was actually a nice dude.

Years later my dad became a garbage man again and only now do I see the connection (there is none).

As far as what that means now… nothing. I didn’t become a doctor or a cop or a fireman. I didn’t even become a garbage man. Or a ninja turtle. So yeah, I failed. But I was 5 when I wanted to do all that shit, so you know, I was 5. What the hell does a 5 year old know?

A few years after I was 10 I wanted to be a writer. That followed me, but I was a little more educated when I was 14 than I was when I was 5. But only a little.

Anyway, so that’s that. Not a big post but I answered the damn question. Are you happy now?! HUH?! ARE YOU?!?!

6 responses to “Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star

  1. Pingback: Daily Promt: When I Grow Up! | The Story of a Guy

  2. Pingback: My top five things I want to be when I grow up… | My Top Fives...

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star | To Breathe is to Write

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star 5/8 | FPFC

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star | Maggie's Blog

  6. Pingback: Not there yet, but almost. | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

