Facebook: The Next Third World Country

Despite the fact that Facebook runs as well as a non-oiled machine, I just heard on the radio a commercial for something where they mentioned a bunch of statistics in it. One of them, and the only one I remembered, was that 60% of the U.S. population is on Facebook. I decided to look that up when I got home so that I could make an uninteresting blog piece about it. Here it is.

I looked up the info and found here that apparently 71% of the U.S. population is on Facebook. That’s a big difference, so I’m wondering who was wrong. Considering the site I got that info from is “AllFacebook.com,” I’m guessing they should know better than a fucking commercial on the radio.

As of April 1st of this year, there are roughly 315.8 million people in the United States. I pulled that number off of Wikipedia, so take from that what you will.

With those numbers in place, that would mean that Facebook has a whopping 224,218,000 people on it just from the U.S. If you consider that number as residents, then Facebook would be the fifth largest country in the world.

I also sort of found that 71% of our population makes up basically everyone age 15 and older. Since I’m sure there aren’t 78 year olds on Facebook, then that means there are probably quite a few kids younger than 15 on Facebook.

So what does all this mean? It means that you just wasted your time reading this shit for no good reason. What’s worse is, I just wasted MY time finding it all out and writing this. And now WordPress has to give up the web space to host this post. HA! Joke’s on them.

4 responses to “Facebook: The Next Third World Country

  1. I refuse to subscribe to the cult of Facebook. Count me in as one of the 29% that doesn’t have it and never will.

  2. Hooray!! I’m part of the 29% too!!

Leave a Reply

