Daily Prompt: All About Me

I missed this when it posted, so here goes.

Explain why you chose your blog’s title and what it means to you.

I’ve explained this once before but that was years ago, so here goes again. This is how I got my name Beefybooyawn.

It all started in 2000 when I decided I wanted to chase my dreams and work in radio. I enlisted at the Ohio Center For Broadcasting and as part of the course you had to get an internship at either a radio or a TV station. Since I was there to work in radio I started looking for an internship. The head of the school recommended me and another student for a spot at 700 WLW, the biggest talk radio station in the world. And our internship was with Gary Burbank, one of the biggest and most successful radio personalities ever. I was a little awestruck.

Meeting the man was an awesome experience and interning for him was even cooler. I was there with him and the station for six months and I learned a lot. One of the things I learned was, Gary had so many interns over the years he couldn’t remember their names, so he gave each one a nick name. For some reason he could remember them that way.

Since I’m a big guy and he’s a fan of cooking, he named me Beefy Bouillon. Since I didn’t want to deal with spelling “bouillon” all the time, I changed it to “booyawn.”

I can’t remember what name the other guy got, but he also told us that our names would stick as they had a tendency to do that.

A short while later I was finally online with my first computer (yeah, I waited a while in life before jumping into that pool) and the amazing dial-up AOL. I needed a handle to go by while in the chat rooms, so the first thing I thought of was to use beefybooyawn.

A shorter while later I decided to have my very own website about nothing. Needing a name for that I came up with the “House o’ Fun” and it has ever since stuck.

One of these days I might even upload the skit where Gary used me in his setup for the skit. I wasn’t on air that time, but he said my name on air and that was a huge thing for me. It’s a funny skit too. One day, maybe, one day.

5 responses to “Daily Prompt: All About Me

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All About Me | My.Vivid.Visions

  2. I wondered about that.

Leave a Reply

