Daily Prompt: Ready, Set, Go!

Set a timer for ten minutes. Open a new post. Start the timer, and start writing. When the timer goes off, publish.

I decided to go along with this particular prompt to catch everyone up to date on a couple of things, and also to ramble, as catching you all up on things won’t take me ten minutes. Also note that when this unexpectedly (maybe) ends, you’ll know why. Those are the rules. And I have to live by them at this particular moment. Otherwise I’ll be cheating, and what the hell is the point of doing the challenge if I’m going to cheat?

First of all, Chat Hole has closed down. I wasn’t entirely doing it the way I wanted, which was to build my own, I took the cheap way out and used a service called Wall.fm. You can actually go to that location, wall.fm and build your own social site. It’s free. However, there are some slight issues with it, like it doesn’t stay up all the time.

I had a regular user (just one other than me) who often told me he tried to access the site and couldn’t. Finally one night I tried to access it and couldn’t. I saw what he was dealing with. The longer I tried and the more I couldn’t, the more pissed I got so I deleted the whole damn site.

Regardless, I had technically done what I had set out to do, and that was build a social networking site better than Facebook, and it was. Cause when I do shit, I do it right.

Anyway, that’s gone, and I just remembered that I have to remove it from the menu above. Another thing I get to do this morning.

Also I’m thinking of becoming a taxi driver. I called the company who is currently hiring drivers and got my information packet via email shortly after. I’ve been studying the info, and soon I’ll take a test to get my taxi license. Hopefully it’ll all go well, because I’m really rather stoked to get this job.

The other day I coughed and pulled a muscle in my side. Someone told me the name of the muscle but I can’t really remember what it was they said. Obliques? Anyway, now when I cough or sneeze (I sneeze a LOT) it drops me to my knees, cause it hurts like a bitch. But it’s getting better.

I recently posted a short story on my Author Page that became Freshly Pressed. For those of you who are WordPress users and don’t know anything about it or what it can do for you, check this out.

I was Freshly Pressed last Friday. As of today and this post, it has gained me 50 new followers to the blog, 104 likes on that post alone, several likes and comments on other pages, the most comments on that particular post that I’ve ever had on any other post, and over 1300 views to a site that took a year to get 1000 views and 11 followers, mostly friends. Being Freshly Pressed rocks. I’m still getting new likes and followers daily from it.

That’s it.

11 responses to “Daily Prompt: Ready, Set, Go!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ready, Set, Go or Maybe | My Blog

  2. Congrats on being FP’d πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: RAMBLE PROMPT « hastywords

  4. Pingback: Didn’t I Just Do This? – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  5. Reblogged this on cftc10.

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ready, Set Go | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  7. Congrats again. I’m proud to be one of your pre FP followers….I can say I read you before you were famous. πŸ˜‰ Are you still going to try for the 13 days of Halloween? They would be crazy not to accept one of your stories.

    Thanks for the update. I hope the taxi job works out. You can make awesome tips and even get regs. Sucks about the pulled muscle. I hope it does get better. L.

  8. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! That’s a big deal! Loved your ramblings. πŸ™‚ http://wileyschmidt.wordpress.com/2013/01/24/go-go-gadget-gratitude/

Leave a Reply

