Dumb And Dumber 2

Ladies and gentlemen, the long wait for a sequel to one of the funniest movies of all time is finally going to happen! And I for one couldn’t be happier!

I’m sorry, let me rephrase that last bit. Ladies and gentlemen, the long wait for a sequel to one of the funniest movies of all time WAS going to happen, but then Jim Carrey pulled the plug on it. And I for one, well, I’m not sure.

The movie, which would have been an actual sequel and not a prequel (Dumb And Dumberer: When Harry Met Lloyd, 9/10 stars from me, by the way) was set to be called “Dumb And Dumber To“. I dig the name, because typically people who didn’t learn a thing in school still use “to” when meaning “too”. Unless they meant to spell out “two” in the name but got that wrong, then I’m wrong in assuming. Either way, it’s not happening now anyway.

For starters, this pissed me off because Jim Carrey refused to do sequels to his movies. Note: “TO HIS MOVIES”, otherwise Batman Forever wouldn’t have happened for him. The only reason he did Ace Ventura 2 was because he was contractually obligated.

So what does this mean? It means that at some point, Dumb And Dumber To was going to happen, meaning that he was fine with it, meaning that he went back on his own word. Why is that? Age getting to him? Lack of decent jobs that live up to the caliber of his earlier work getting to him? Or was he just jumping on the bandwagon of all the older classics having new sequels and he wanted to be a part of it for some unknown reason? No matter which one it was, it makes him look weak and pathetic.

And then, in a moment of what was most likely self-doubt, he said he no longer wanted to do Dumb And Dumber To, only he blamed it on lack of a studio interest. This makes him look even weaker and more pathetic.

“Why won’t someone write a decent script for Ace Ventura 3?! PLEASE! I need SOMETHING!”

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a huge Jim Carrey fan and would LOVE to see Dumb And Dumber To. Even if it makes him look like a bitch for going back on his own word. I’d love to see an Ace Ventura 3. But I don’t need them. I don’t think they need to happen. But still, to have another awesome funny movie from one of this generations most funny men? That would be cool to see.

Still though, I’m pissed. I’m pissed at him for going back on his word and looking like a douche, and I’m mad at him for going back on his going back to keep the movie from happening. Jim, make up your fucking mind and just do SOMETHING worthwhile.

One response to “Dumb And Dumber 2

  1. Pingback: Movie Sequels? | Beefy's House o' Fun

Leave a Reply

