Movie Review: Tower Heist

I finally got to see a movie that I’ve been wanting to see since I first saw a preview for it, and of course it was Tower Heist, hence the name of this blog…

The movie stars Ben Stiller in a role that isn’t bad for him. I’m not a huge Stiller fan, but he does very well in this movie. I believe it is because he isn’t being all Ben-Stillerie. He works in a building, The Tower, in New York where a bunch of wealthy people own apartments/condos. The building is apparently the most valuable piece of property in the world, so everything is run tight. They have the most high-tech security in the world as well.

As the building manager, Stiller has to operate a successful hand-and-foot operation while waiting on and taking care of everyone in the building at all times. He knows the in’s and out’s of the whole building.

One day he gets fired and he decides he’s going to rob the wealthiest man in the building. He and several of his coworkers who also got fired hire a street burglar played by Eddie Murphy, to help them out.

Murphy puts on a great performance and my hat is off to the rest of the cast for being able to work with him and not burst into laughter on every take. I’m sure the gag-reel is hilarious.

The end to the movie is also perfect, but I won’t give anything else away. Overall I really enjoyed the movie, it was very funny and very well done by everyone involved. Even Alan Alda put on a great performance, as only he could.

I give this movie 9 of 10 stars.

2 responses to “Movie Review: Tower Heist

  1. Nice review! I finally got some time to sit and watch a movie, so I decided to rent this film last night in HD through my Dish subscription. Boy am I glad I did because honestly I had a great time watching. I am more of a Ben Stiller fan than Eddie Murphy, but I was happy to see that I actually enjoyed both of their characters in this film. There were moments I was laughing hysterically and then others were I felt bad for the characters, so that is always good in my book. The part where they were trying to move the car out of the building was so scary, especially since I felt like I was there on the edge with them since I was watching in HD. I would have never made it through if I was really there lol. I am glad to hear you enjoyed Tower Heist though…I was beginning to feel like the only one based on all the mixed reviews and negative comments I’ve heard from co-workers of mine at Dish. 🙂

  2. Yeah, I was impressed. And that scene that grabbed you, the car through the window, it got to me too. Watching the one guy hanging from the car, that was too much for me. I would have been dead for sure lol.

    Glad you stopped by! Don’t be a stranger.

Leave a Reply

