Movie Review: Paranormal Activity Series

I just got done watching Paranormal Activity 3 and I must say, I’ve enjoyed the series.

The first one was a surprise to me, because I didn’t think I would like it. Another Blair Witch-esque movie? No thanks. But actually, it was done rather well and it had a decent creepiness factor to it. Awesome.

I'd post the covers to the second two, but they're all the same. You get the idea with this one.

Excitedly, I watched the second and enjoyed it more than the first. The creepiness factor was stepped up in it and I really enjoyed it, although the back story starts to come into play and that’s where it starts getting a little too Hollywood, but still, interesting.

Finally the third came out and I really wanted to see this one in the theater, but I didn’t make it. Just now I got to see it on video and while I did enjoy it, and I did get into the creepiness of the movie, I don’t think it was as good as either of the first two.

First of all, it’s nice to see basically the beginning of the story, set in 1988 when everything kind of first started to go down, even though they tell you that it had been going on for several decades up to this point. Maybe even a hundred years, I can’t really remember.

Anyway, if you would like to watch them chronologically, you have to watch the third one first, and then the first two in order, 3, 1, 2. In all honesty, it makes sense. The third is the worst of the three, although it’s still very good. The first was better and the second was the best of the three, so really by watching them in chronological order, you’re seeing them from good to best.

Also, the third was filmed by 1988 camcorder standards, so the quality sucks throughout, which was another non-selling point for me, but it’s still good enough that the film quality doesn’t ruin the whole thing.

Now hopefully they won’t make a fourth and make it a real movie showing the very beginning of how the things got started, since back then there were no camcorders, so it would have to be a Hollywood style, good production movie and that would ruin the entire thing (just like it did with the Blair Witch series).

Part 1: 7/10
Part 2: 8.5/10
Part 3: 6.5/10
Series: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

