Here’s To You, Wayne Robson

For those of you who don’t know who Wayne Robson is, and I’m sure that’s probably quite a lot of you, I’ll tell you who he is.

Wayne Robson is a Canadian actor who has been doing television and movies for over 40 years in both Canada and America. His most famous role was of Mike Hamar on the Canadian TV show, The Red Green Show. He was the tiny older man who always wore blue jeans and a black t-shirt. He was always stealing things and getting himself caught up in crazy situations.

I’m a huge fan of The Red Green Show, and every now and then I see somebody on TV on some random show that was on The Red Green Show once or twice. But him, I never saw on anything until the other day.

Wayne as Mike Hamar on The Red Green Show

I was watching Wrong Turn 2 (which I’ll probably write a blog about) and I came across a scene between Henry Rollins and this old man. The old man looked familiar. I paused the movie and looked him up and sure enough, it was Wayne Robson.

Wayne as the father of the strange family in Wrong Turn 1 & 2

While I was on IMDB, I decided to look at everything he’s done, and I was shocked to find out that he had been in a lot of other things I had seen multiple times. I also found out that he’s done a whole lot of acting over the years.

Some of his works include, Kids In The Hall, Survival Of The Dead, The Timekeeper, The Incredible Hulk, Puppets Who Kill, the first Wrong Turn movie which I had just watched and didn’t even recognize him, National Lampoon’s Senior Trip, Dolores Claiborne, Robocop TV Series, the voice of Frank in the Disney movie The Rescuers Down Under, one of the most boring movies I ever tried to watch Candy Mountain, Popeye the movie with Robin Williams and Shelley Duvall, among many other things.

I also found something else out I didn’t know. From Wikipedia:

Robson passed away peacefully at his home on April 4, 2011 at the age of 64, the cause of death was not disclosed.

I was blown away. He has entertained me for many many years on The Red Green Show and he was always one of my favorite characters. After figuring out it was him in Wrong Turn 2, and also in the first one as well, I was happy to see a different side of him, see that he really was a good actor.

To hear of his death is a shame, really, and I for one am a fan who will miss him. Mister Wayne Robson, thank you for entertaining me for all of these years. I’m glad that you passed on peacefully, and I hope your name isn’t soon forgotten by those who have watched you for all of these forty years.

Leave a Reply

