Casket Song

I was talking with a friend one day and this came up. I thought it was interesting because it’s a thought provoking concept.

Your casket song is the one song you could listen to for the rest of eternity as you lay in your box, rotting and decaying. Never mind that you’ll be dead and can’t hear shit anyway. Basically, if you could only listen to one song, and had to over and over and over without stopping, what would it be?

If you answer this one fast, you’ve either thought about this very thing, or you’re full of shit.

This is a tough one. Even my most favorite song I think I’d get sick of eventually. However, I do have a couple that make the cut. The only problem is, I can’t narrow it down to just one, although one of these could very well be the one. The list is short, but it’s still not short enough.

The first one I thought of immediately is, Gone Shootin’ by AC/DC. I love it, it’s classic rock at its finest. I don’t know what my favorite thing about this song is, but I could probably listen to it forever, and why wouldn’t I want to? It would be a good way to get to listen to my favorite band of all time forever, without getting sick of it.

The second one comes as sort of a shock, but it’s a song by the Insane Clown Posse called I’m Coming Home. I’m no longer a fan of ICP, at least not as I once was when I was younger and dumber. Their older stuff I can still listen to and enjoy. I find them funny, and really that’s about it. But I can’t tell you the last thing I bought by them or even listened to.

This song, though, sticks out for me. I remember the first time I really enjoyed this song. It was several years ago when I was playing on a dart league. After a night of drinking and playing darts I was on my way home and this song came on. I was in such high spirits after having such a good night (the alcohol helped) and this song was just on at the right moment. Ever since then, when I hear this song I am put in a good mood. I could probably listen to this for eternity.

Now, the most recent addition to the list is the one that will most likely be the one. Learning To Fly by Pink Floyd. Another one of my most favorite bands of all time, and this song is one of the reasons why. This song is amazing. The music is really what gets me, but the lyrics are also a reason. It’s just a good song with a cool little story that really just puts me in a good place. After watching the live performance of it from the Pulse DVD, I think I’m ready to die now just so I can listen to this for forever.

All I have to do now is remember when I die to have a sound system built in so that I can, in fact, hear this song for the rest of eternity. Or until the batteries die in my casket.

So, what’s yours? Can you at the very least narrow it down to a few? It’s hard to do!

2 responses to “Casket Song

  1. I love Aerosmith. I was forced to listen to one of their songs over and over, everyday, for close to 3 years. That song gives me nightmares now. There is not one song that wouldn’t drive me nuts over time. So none is my answer. I’m kinda glad I’m being cremated after thinking about this.

  2. That’s understandable.

Leave a Reply

